Friday August 11, 2017
TEAM boss Carl Johnson wants Peterborough to use their SGB Championship Fours triumph as a springboard for league success.

The 'T Balfe Construction' Panthers ended a wait of more than a decade for silverware when capturing the Fours crown on a memorable East of England Arena occasion last Sunday.

Now they return to SGB Championship competition with a run of three away meetings in as many days - starting at Edinburgh tonight (Friday, 730pm).

And Johnson hopes the feelgood factor can be continued by a victory at Armadale.

He said: "Not many people gave us a chance of winning the Fours, but we showed we are a team that should never be written off.

"We believe we're capable of getting results anywhere on any given day and we go into this run of fixtures on a high.

"The Fours success has put smiles on so many faces and we want to keep them there.

"We're currently a long way off the play-off places, but we're determined to finish the season as well as possibly can.

"The boys all want to win speedway meetings and we'll go to Edinburgh, Berwick and Newcastle this weekend with the aim of doing just that."

Peterborough are without two of their regular riders tonight.

Captain Ulrich Ostergaard has a commitment in his native Denmark while Bradley Wilson-Dean misses all three upcoming away trips with a hand problem.

Johnson has turned to former Edinburgh title-winner Justin Sedgmen - currently of Ipswich - to step in for Ostergaard with the rider replacement facility also in operation.

Reserve Tom Bacon is fit to take his place in Peterborough after undergoing physiotherapy on a partial dislocation of the shoulder and Paul Starke will also line up despite having to withdraw from Poole's SGB Premiership drubbing by Rye House last night after a crash.

Edinburgh also call in a guest as Ludvig Lindgren steps in for injured number one Sam Masters.

EDINBURGH: Ludvig Lindgren (guest), Theo Pijper, Ricky Wells, Max Clegg, Erik Riss, Josh Pickering, Mitchell Davey.

PETERBOROUGH: Chris Harris, Rider replacement for Bradley Wilson-Dean, Paul Starke, Justin Sedgmen (guest), Jack Holder, Simon Lambert, Tom Bacon.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter